This Is A Spark Of Life.

"For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of darkness."

9/11 photojournalist was at Stade De France during Paris terror event.

smc-4

Steve McCurry, the “photojournalist” who took the iconic “Afghan girl” photo, had a great view of the WTC towers on September 11, and took many photos at ground zero. According to him,

I’d gotten back from a month in Tibet at 8 p.m. on September 10. So on the morning of September 11 I’d been back about 12 hours. I live by Washington Square Park, and my office has a view of Lower Manhattan. I was there, going through mail with my assistant, when we got a phone call saying that the World Trade Center was on fire. I looked out my window and saw both towers were on fire.

I got my camera bag and went up on the roof of my building and started photographing the towers. We didn’t even know it was a plane, because we were up on the roof without the radio or TV. We all thought it was a fire that would eventually be put out—a terrible disaster, I mean both towers were on fire. I figured I’d shoot it from my roof for about 20 minutes and then go down to the base.

And then they just fell.

http://www.americanphotomag.com/steve-mccurry-ground-zero-photographs

How convenient that he was also at the National Stadium in Paris last night!

full link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzCl5eodRtk

Leave a Reply

